I’ve kept you waiting long enough

27 Apr

Hi friends. If you are reading this then thank you for coming back. I know I’ve left you hanging for quiteee some time, for which I apologize. I got this idea into my head that I didn’t want to reveal the house finished until everything was super clean and beautiful. Well that won’t be for quite some time so I’ve decided to start posting the ending of the progress photos even though they may not have all the finishing touches added yet.

So here we go, I decided to start with the kitchen because that is by far the biggest transformation

To remind you what it looked like before…

We took out the wall that the stove is on to combine the kitchen and dining room into one large kitchen and here is what it looks like now

The pendants still need the crystals to be added

It’s insane how much more open and airy the entire room feels with that wall down

View from the new dining room old living room

Island storage, our microwave drawer, and beverage center

 The granite does not look yellowish/cream in real life I had to turn all the lights on because of the time of day to get the best shots.

Here you can see the true color of the granite which is dark gray and white

Here you can see the beloved hood and backsplash. We decided to go with a white subway tile in a herringbone/chevron pattern. I thought it was a fun take on a classic backsplash. We used a light gray grout so in real life you can see the pattern a lot better

Sorry I’m not a professional photographer! I know these aren’t the greatest photos. One thing yet to be revealed is our dark hardwood floors! We don’t have an inch of carpet in the house so I’ve been on an area rug buying spree. So excited to show you more!!!

The house recaps have begun! Yay!

28 Responses to “I’ve kept you waiting long enough”

  1. Holly June 14, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    Just saw this on Better After and had to stop by because I figured she was being a big liar and pulled those pics from BHG magazine! Holy Cow! Gorgeous. Sorry Lindsey, you aren’t a big liar. Love it!

    • Home On Garden Ct. June 14, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      Thank you so much! It was a lot of work but we’re SO happy with how everything turned out! Stay tuned for decorating updates!

  2. Ashley June 14, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    Your kitchen is gorgeous!! I’m very jealous. I’ll have a kitchen to redo in a handful of days and this is great inspiration!

    Ashley

    • Home On Garden Ct. June 14, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      Wow, thank you so much for the compliment! The kitchen is what we spent the most on and is definitely the most dramatic difference!

  3. amie June 14, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    It’s absolutely beautiful!

  4. Megan Sloan June 14, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    I came over from Better After and I WANT YOUR KITCHEN! 🙂 We will hopefully some day do ours and we will be removing a wall too. I have a vision in my mind that your kitchen is very similar to! I love love love the way you set your tile. Much better and more attractive than a traditional way of subway tile. Plus, it adds so much interest! And the granite.. yes please! Now if only I could start redoing my kitchen, I’d show this to my hubby and say “all of it!”

    • Home On Garden Ct. June 14, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      Thank you so much for your kind words!! I got so much inspiration off the internet and actually found the backsplash idea from a flip Liz did over at her blog It’s Great to be Home http://itsgreattobehome.net/ She is amazing!

  5. Sarah Faulkner June 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    Wow! Your kitchen looks amazing! We are in the process of designing our new kitchen & chose a style VERY similar. Where did you get your countertop & what kind of granite is it? My husband wants granite & I want marble, yours is the perfect combination.

    • Home On Garden Ct. June 14, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

      Thank you so much! We got our granite from Factory Plaza Granite in Bensenville, IL. I wanted marble countertops SO badly! But in the end realized that it is impractical. I basically googled the crap out of “granite that looks like marble” and came up with Super White granite from Brazil. It was so popular we had to wait 2 months for a new shipment large enough for our kitchen to come in, but it was worth the wait!! I originally wanted it to be more white (if you google super white you will see a lot more white than gray in the stone). However I’m really glad we ended up with the slabs we did, the gray is a perfect accent to our mostly white kitchen.

  6. Marisa June 14, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    I also saw your kitchen on Better After. It is INSANELY gorgeous. I love everything about it!! What color granite did you use?

    • Home On Garden Ct. June 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      Thank you so much! The granite is called “Super White” it’s from Brazil.

  7. olgastardust June 15, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    Visiting from Better After. Love the new look! There is no comparison with the before shot, seems like a completely different room! Great job! I bet you’re more than happy now just being there cooking and stuff!
    Love, Olga

  8. Rebecca June 15, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    Hopped over from Better After. LOVE everything about your kitchen! It’s so fresh and light and airy. What is your paint color on the wall? Is it a gray or blue?

    • Home On Garden Ct. June 15, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      Thanks Rebecca! That is exactly the look we were going for. The entire first floor except the dining room is painted in Benjamin Moore’s Silver Lake 1598. It is kind of a bluish gray. At certain times in the day it looks more blue but mostly looks more gray. I absolutely love it in person!

  9. Kimberly June 16, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    LOVE and LOVE!!!! I soooooooooo want your kitchen now. I am so jealous.

  10. JeffnMichelle Wimp June 19, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    i saw your kitchen on pinterest, and i had to a look! it is amazing! this is just want i’ve had swirling around in my brain for ours. i have no need to look further, just amazing!

    • Home On Garden Ct. June 27, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      Thank you! Got lots of inspiration off the internet. It’s so cool to think our kitchen is now inspiring others!

  11. Laura Berkenblit December 1, 2016 at 8:50 am #

    hi there! kitchen is really gorgeous and love the backsplash tile. what size are the tiles? 2×4 or 3×6? and did you get these on a sheet or did installer just arrange them in that pattern? thanks!

    • Musings of a Suburban Mama July 20, 2017 at 9:18 pm #

      Wow so sorry for this insanely delayed response, they are a basic white subway from menards. They are 3×6 and our tile guy arranged them in the herringbone pattern!

  12. Vila July 19, 2017 at 3:47 pm #

    Love your kitchen! Where did you get your subway tile? I’ve been trying to find white tile that matches my “white dove” cabinets. Some are too white and some are too creamy. Yours are a perfect match!

    • Musings of a Suburban Mama July 20, 2017 at 9:15 pm #

      Thank you!! It’s just the basic white subway from Menards! It was the cheapest place we found to buy it and just lucked out with the bright white but not too white color!

  13. Jenny Berry March 31, 2018 at 1:34 am #

    Love the range hood/backsplash!
    Is it the round provence hood from signature hardware? I’m not sure if it’s the lighting in the picture or if it’s actually rounded.

    Thank you!

    • Musings of a Suburban Mama October 29, 2018 at 9:37 pm #

      Hi Jenny, wow so sorry for this very delayed response. The brand of the hood is Zephyr. I am not sure which model it is. But yes the front is rounded!

  14. Amy DiSantis October 29, 2018 at 9:12 pm #

    Can I ask the name of the granite? It is exactly what I’ve been tearing my hair out looking for!!!

Leave a comment