The heart of the home

2 Nov

So first I’m going to show you our kitchen layout. The layout we came up with fairly easily. It was the placement of the appliances that took a while to configure. We needed to find the perfect cooking triangle between stove/oven, fridge, and sink. Although our triangle is not perfect, the island is somewhat in the way, we’re willing to deal with it. Or I’m willing to deal with it because this kitchen is my baby and I HAD to have an island. Spoiled? Yes. Completely overjoyed and beyond excited? You bet your bottom dollar.

Ok enough jabbering, so like I said previously our kitchen is going to be huge. 17 feet x 12 feet to be exact. Here is the sketch Kevin did based on my original sketch.

We are doing a microwave drawer in the island instead of above the range. I hate microwaves on eye level I’m just not a huge fan of the way it looks. I’ve actually used a microwave drawer before and they’re so great! I love our kitchen layout. We are going to have seating at the peninsula and 3 pendant lights over the island. There will be a small eat in kitchen table just behind the peninsula in that transitional space into the family room. Our contractor told me message centers are “out”, well sorry Marc but I don’t really care I still want one. I think a little desk area for a family calendar or laptop and a place to drop your keys/purse is a necessity instead of cluttering up the kitchen countertops. Overall I love our layout!

I promised you some inspiration so inspiration you will get! None of this is set in stone although it pretty much is in my mind because I love it all so so much. I quickly threw this olioboard together from all the inspiration I’ve gathered on the internet over the past couple of months. It’s going to be light, bright and airy with a whimsical touch. I’m most excited about the kitchen because everyone knows it’s the heart of the home. Here is my rough inspiration board.

I fell in love with the backsplash the minute I saw it. It’s such a pretty light color and the bold shape is definitely vintage. The countertops pictured are marble but I actually found a granite that is similar to it in color. I love the look of marble but because it etches the practicality of it is just not right for us and hopefully some little babes down the road. All white cabinets for a fresh clean look. The dishes are similar to the Kate Spade ones I registered for. A wine fridge for all the girls wine nights that are bound to happen. The white modernish bar stools for the peninsula seating. The sparkly pendant lights for over the island will add a touch of glamour.

The more I look for furniture and home decor the more I’m surprising myself with what I like. I used to think I only like traditional style pieces and modern was way too harsh and clean lineed for me. But I’m actually starting to really like some modern furniture and accents. Go figure.

I am so so excited about our kitchen and cannot wait for it to come to life!! I will post another olioboard sometime if I end up updating this one on our kitchen decor. Be on the lookout for other decor oilioboards in the future for bathrooms and bedrooms! If you have a question or want to know more please leave me a comment!! I would love to hear from you!


2 Responses to “The heart of the home”

  1. Alison November 2, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    Are you planning to have a chair at the message center, or just have it be a cabinet/counter space for papers and such? I think a chair/desk message center is impractical (you won’t actually sit there — you’d sit at the counter if you needed to do work in the kitchen) and would get in the way, but if it’s just cabinets and counter designated for mail and junk, then it makes sense.

    • Home On Garden Ct. November 7, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

      Definitely no chair, just a small desk area like at Mom and Dad’s house.

Leave a Reply

